ipisoft.com
http://forum.ipisoft.com/

Problems importing .bvh to Second Life and (Q)Avimator
http://forum.ipisoft.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=5130
Page 1 of 3

Author:  colindawe [ Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:16 am ]
Post subject:  Problems importing .bvh to Second Life and (Q)Avimator

Hi,

We're currently evaluating iPi Studio with Kinnetic for educational machinima in Second Life.

I've manged to create an animation and export to .bvh but importing to Avimator gives a

'memory could not be written' error and Second Life gives

'incorrect root joint name, use hip'

Any help gratefully received.

Colin


EDIT

Hmm, edited the bvh file as SL is happy with 'hip' not 'Hip' but the animation is nothing like in iPi Studio.
Also, the edited file still crashes Avimator and QAvimator.

Author:  Michael Nikonov [ Thu Jun 16, 2011 9:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems importing .bvh to Second Life and (Q)Avimator

You should import your Second Life character skeleton into iPiStudio and transfer your motion to your character.

http://www.ipisoft.com/en/wiki/index.ph ... ustom_Rigs

Author:  colindawe [ Fri Jun 17, 2011 4:37 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems importing .bvh to Second Life and (Q)Avimator

Thanks.
Any idea where I can get a Second Life character skeleton as creating one is way beyond my skills.

Author:  SassyR [ Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:45 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems importing .bvh to Second Life and (Q)Avimator

send me an inworld name I can IM and i'll share with you what I do as workflow that works very nicely

Author:  colindawe [ Fri Jun 17, 2011 6:39 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems importing .bvh to Second Life and (Q)Avimator

OK, I've filmed another brief sequence and synched it in Studio - the model perfectly mimics my actor.

Exporting to both Blender and MotionBuilder is just bizarre. The skeleton instantly disappears off the off the screen (as it did in SL) and in no way behaves as the characters in Studio.

Please help!

Author:  SassyR [ Fri Jun 17, 2011 7:17 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems importing .bvh to Second Life and (Q)Avimator

See above, help is offered but if that's no good, download this http://static.secondlife.com/downloads/ ... _files.zip unzip and use any one of the bvh files as the skeleton as suggested.

My preferred workflow though is to do this then export to bvh, edit and add head and wrist movements in Animeeple, http://www.animeeple.com/ (Animeeple is far far more versatile than Qavimator and it's free)

The output of Animeeple will go straight into SL but I prefer to then take it into BV Hacker http://davedub.co.uk/bvhacker/ where I remove the T pose, mark the start and end point, crop and knit. Centre and set any !Zero. I also tend to remove the unwanted joints that SL doesn't support, the eyes and the toes although it doesn't seem to cause SL any problem. You'd need to get to grips with Animeeple a bit, one important thing to do is to open the properties of the animation and remove the fix feet check box as it causes knee joint popping which isn't in the output from DMC.

Finally set T pose again under the Prepare menu, save and upload.

That gives me a cleaned up, smooth looping animation for SL

Author:  colindawe [ Fri Jun 17, 2011 7:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems importing .bvh to Second Life and (Q)Avimator

SassyR wrote:
See above, help is offered


Hi Sassy,

I sent you an email through the this board - let me know if you haven't received anything.

Author:  SassyR [ Fri Jun 17, 2011 7:34 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems importing .bvh to Second Life and (Q)Avimator

nothing received, I don't know if it works?

Author:  SassyR [ Fri Jun 17, 2011 7:41 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems importing .bvh to Second Life and (Q)Avimator

[removed]

Author:  colindawe [ Fri Jun 17, 2011 7:42 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems importing .bvh to Second Life and (Q)Avimator

Thanks for your help Sassy.
I've installed both BVH Hacker and Animeeple so will have a play on Monday.

Unfortunately, I'm back to the same problem in that the skeleton on frame 1 is in a T pose then just flies off the screen for subsequent frames despite it 'appearing' that actor and model are synchronised in studio.

Shame as we're genuinely interested in the software.

Colin

Page 1 of 3 All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/