Change font size
It is currently Mon Dec 16, 2019 3:31 am

Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 2   [ 17 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Troubleshooting tracking
PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2010 7:14 am 

Hi all,

Finally been able to record a decent mocap session. This time calibration was perfect. I'm just beginning to analyze the data and I'm sure I'll run into some troubles. But first...

I have a little session where the actor just walks through the capture volume. Except one of the arms that goes crazy in the last frames (my cams aren't perfectly placed, I suppose it's partially occluded), eveything is good. But when playing back the animation, the legs, although being correctly tracked, are really trembling a lot. As I don't want an epileptic motion (lol), how do I smooth it ? I applied Jitter Removal but it did'nt seem to have any effect.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 1:46 am 

No one ? At least, can you people tell me if you have to smooth the animation after mocap ? And does Jitter removal works for you ?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 8:35 am 
iPi Soft

Hello!

As a rule slight smoothing plus Jitter Removal works fine. Please, check the following:
  • Value in "Post-processing: Trajectory Filtering" is 1 or 2
  • Region of Interest (aka ROI) is set correctly during applying of Jitter Removal
  • Jitter Removal has finished its work completely (there are two phases: preparation and frame-by-frame calculation like tracking but several times faster)

If you still have problems, could you please send to us problematic MoCap project (in this case it is enough to send only *.MoCap file because problems are not in tracking).

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:58 am 

Earlack wrote:
No one ? At least, can you people tell me if you have to smooth the animation after mocap ? And does Jitter removal works for you ?

Sorry, I almost replied to your first post, but my only suggestion would have been to enable Jitter Removal, which it sounds like you tried.