Change font size
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 7:20 pm

Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 4   [ 38 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2017 2:58 am 

Hello all. : )

I'm new to this IPI forum and looking very intently to getting some new cameras n cables etc to start my own home mocap system! Here are my current computer specs (I built this for my 3d rendering for gpu renderer redshift3d and octane), and I would appreciate your input as to your best recommendations for my current situation.

My current computer:

-cpu: i7 6850k
-GPU: 4 x gtx1070
-windows 7: on an NVME 256 ssd
-32gigs Ram
-ssd, 2 hdds

I'm guessing that I have at least 2 ubs controllers on my mb.. (it's a pretty newer ones.. so I hope it has two). However, I don't have any free pcie slots or even pci slots left for extra controller to be installed (my four 1070 is covering all the board, so non of the 1x or pci slots are available), so I can use maximum of FOUR PS eye cameras only. Unless my usb 3.0 controller allows me to connect 3 PS eye camera to each controller at slower speeds? (maybe 40fps, or 50fps?) then I can use 5 or 6 cameras.. what do you think..

Also, does IPI soft benefit from having multiple GPUS? in recording and in processing tracking in studio? It would be nice to utilize the FOUR 1070s for some function in IPI.. : ) Also read that the 3.5 beta has 2.5 faster processing than previous versions but only in ONE gpu mode.. maybe one gpu use is better then?

Or I could go with Kinect v2 camera set up.. which requires that I put in windows 10.. (I can put that on one of my ssds and boot win10 just for IPI with Kinect v2). However, looking at the samples from snapz, I really want to go with PS eye set up (he did some good ones with only 4 PS eyes in his older times : )