Change font size
It is currently Sat Nov 16, 2019 4:30 pm


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 3   [ 21 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Calibration Help
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:10 am 

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:16 pm
Posts: 29
Hi all,

I am giving the trial ago using 3 PS3 cams and I have a question.

Ok i have my cams all 2mtr above the ground round abouts, but when I adjust scale of cam 1 to 2mtr above ground it says the distance between 1 and 2 is something like 4.6 mtrs (it isnt, its only about 2 also as room is not huge) so I went with just setting height of cam 1 (as ill be marking ground) is that ok?

I am running a calibration right now, however i just clicked the box "Auto detect cam positions"

Cheers all


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Calibration Help
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:06 am 

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:16 pm
Posts: 29
well I ran calibration without that auto detect initial cam position option on, right at the very end of the vid it started to adjust the cam heights and put cam 1 at right height, 2 pretty much ok, but it put cam 3 under the ground.. Oo

Maybe as I adjusted the height before calibration? well ill try again leaving that till end like in the vid guide, hope this time it ok!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Calibration Help
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:05 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 12:37 pm
Posts: 104
if you haven't already done so, my advice is to use the ipi video tutorials and make sure you can track their video and perform a calibration with their data. It makes a lot more sense if you've used a working sample to learn with.

If you have done that then it sounds like maybe your capture is wrong, cameras in the wrong order, haven't defined ground points correctly or something else :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Calibration Help
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:14 am 

Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:34 pm
Posts: 2362
Location: Los Angeles
As djtaylor suggests, if your video is correctly shot the calibration process should be fairly automatic with no manual adjustments required other than the height of a single camera, and that's done after the actual calibration process.

Could you post a compressed version of your video? If we can see what you're dealing with we might be able to figure it out for you.

G.

_________________
Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Demo Reel (2017) | Demo Reel (2015) | Demo Reel (2013)

Image
Watch a one minute excerpt on Vimeo now!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Calibration Help
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:10 pm 

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:16 pm
Posts: 29
No way! 4 hours.. and guess what.. cam in the wrong order.. I didnt notice that, oh well we live and learn.

Do you guys click "Auto Detect initial cam position" then? the guides do not mention it however it sounds like a good thing ?

Well i re shot my calibration vid and its running as we speak with that mode enabled.. look forward to the results!

Thanks for the help by the way.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Calibration Help
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:10 pm 

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:16 pm
Posts: 29
well not going well, the cams all where sort of in the right place after calibration, so I saved it and recorded some video for the actual capture part, loaded the calibration file and tried to move the IPI actor to match me, but on cam 1 the IPI guy is tiny! nothing lines up, i move it on the middle cam (2) so it looks ok, then flick to 1 or something and its miles away...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Calibration Help
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:55 pm 

Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:34 pm
Posts: 2362
Location: Los Angeles
Did you set your scene scale? You need to input the actual height of one of the cameras.

G.

_________________
Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Demo Reel (2017) | Demo Reel (2015) | Demo Reel (2013)

Image
Watch a one minute excerpt on Vimeo now!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Calibration Help
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 2:38 pm 

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:16 pm
Posts: 29
Yes I did, I have 3 cams, all 2mtr above ground, when I load in the vid ready to make the calibration file I just leave the scale and so on, as the video did that after, so once I have marked 3 or 4 ground points (then select the find more ground point button) I then scale it, setting cam 1 to 2mtr high

then save it..

What am I doing wrong? ill try it without selecting the auto detect cam position button.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Calibration Help
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 2:54 pm 

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:16 pm
Posts: 29
Greenlaw wrote:
Did you set your scene scale? You need to input the actual height of one of the cameras.

G.


you mean that slider in Calibration tab? if so then yes thats the one I refer to which I change after I ran calibration


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Calibration Help
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:05 pm 

Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:34 pm
Posts: 2362
Location: Los Angeles
It sounds like you're using it correctly. Without seeing the video it's guessing in the dark though. Could you post the video? Either on youtube or filedropper would be fine. Be sure to compress it to a reasonable size.

Also, what are the specs of your computer and what type of graphics card do you use? OS?

G.

_________________
Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Demo Reel (2017) | Demo Reel (2015) | Demo Reel (2013)

Image
Watch a one minute excerpt on Vimeo now!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 3   [ 21 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
610nm Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net