Change font size
It is currently Mon Feb 17, 2020 12:50 pm

Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 7 posts ]
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:41 pm 

Hi everyone,

This is my first try at a mocap project, and I just downloaded the iPi basic 30-day trial. I'm excited to get started. I have a kinect xbox one.

I'd like to capture hand motion - position and orientation, no need for fingers at this point - then take the mocap into maya and use it as an animation path, not as skeletal data for character animation. Does anyone have any tips on this?

Also, if I have time I'd like to analyze the mocap data for instantaneous velocity and acceleration and use it to attach to the animation path in maya. I think iPi exports to something matlab can read? I have access to matlab. Or can velocity/accel be output directly from iPi.

Thanks a bunch for any advice.

-M

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:00 am 
iPi Soft

Hi
For accurate capturing of hand orientation consider using PS Move controller in addition to Kinect.
FYI our software does not capture finger movements. Fingers can only be keyframed in iPi Mocap Studio manually.
For analysis of velocity/acceleration you may look into the Biomech addon. Activate 30-days trial on Biomech tab.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 8:04 am 

vmaslov wrote:
Hi
For accurate capturing of hand orientation consider using PS Move controller in addition to Kinect.

FYI our software does not capture finger movements. Fingers can only be keyframed in iPi Mocap Studio manually.