Change font size
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:35 pm

Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 10 posts ]
PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 3:52 am 

Hey there!

I'm quite new to iPi Soft, but have been studying it thoroughly and experimenting a lot. So first, thanks for all the knowledge shared around here!

Using a 6 PS Eyes set-up, I have already been able to pull out of it some pretty decent data.

However, I have a session - already captured - for which the same calibration file is failing to be optimal for all takes. We only had time to do a calibration at the beginning of the session and another at the end, and they result a little differently. Our mounts were probably not sturdy enough, but, that said, I'm trying to get the best I can out of what I already have.

I've managed to get better tracking results by manually moving the camera after calibration. I know it is not the recommended procedure, but it is helping. However, when I move any camera, the "roll" value is instantly zeroed out. Do we have any access to be able to modify this value or not?

Not everything always goes the way we planned according to plan, and if the software offers broader access to its setting, it can be a real life-saver!

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 5:03 am 
iPi Soft

Hi
Indeed, there is no control for changing the roll angle of the camera. Mainly because the purpose of editing controls is to set estimated camera positions before calibration rather than to adjust afterwards. However, you can edit the iPiScene file manually using any text editor in case you know what position and rotation you need.
There is also a chance that camera were not moved during recording, but both of your calibrations produce inaccurate results due to some factor, say poor environment conditions for calibration. You may share you calibration video so I can check this guess.

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2016 10:48 am