Change font size
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 1:52 am

Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 4 posts ]
PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2017 8:54 am 

Hi folks,
I am brand new to MoCap. I plan to start with the Basic setup using 6 PS3Eyes, but may eventually up the number of cameras if all goes well. I plan to buy a dedicated PC; I have seen the list of required specs but I wonder if anyone could suggest recent specific models of PC which fulfill the requirements? Seem like it might make most sense to get a desktop, as portability won't be an issue.
Thanks for any help!
Best
PPagan

PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2017 5:43 pm 

Build your own PC if possible, you will get what you want and much cheaper in the long run.

Depends on whether you favor Intel, or may want to try a new Ryzen configuration.

Get the highest end graphics card you can afford, 10 series if possible, as iPi Studio is GPU demanding with PS Eyes, especially if going to up the number of cams later, but the gains you get in fps tracking may not be worth running dual cards.

Don't go crazy on the monitor size either, 20-23 in is good, the larger the monitor and the higher the resolution the more it will draw from your graphics card to run it. 1080p works well.

Be sure you have enough USB controllers to run the amount of cams you wish to run off one machine, or you will have to bump to distributed recording using 2 machines and that may not be the route you want to go.

Add on 2 port USB 3.0 controllers are fairly cheap, but you can get dedicated chip 4 port controllers also, but cost much more.

Do you have a budget on what you want to spend on a new machine yet?

The better the machine is, the better iPi will perform in all aspects.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2017 6:43 pm 

Thanks Snapz!
I know you are right about build it yourself, but I just don't have the time. I have been looking at Alienware Aurora?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:05 pm