Change font size
It is currently Mon Dec 10, 2018 8:10 pm


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 2 of 2   [ 17 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 5:46 am 

Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 5:43 am
Posts: 1
Doctor_GLaDOS wrote:
Not to be overly dramatic but after many many[MANY] hours of throwing myself at the wall I might have finally found the solution.
After disabling Pagefile my framerate went from around 25 to solid 30.
Here is a tutorial: http://tunecomp.net/win10-page-file-disable/

Can I have a cookie now?


Man, you made my day! Thank you SO much. I too had the same problem - framerate not going over 25. Dumping pagefile solved the problem. Thank you for taking time creating the tutorial video.

_________________
I just found this review by Theskinnyvibes


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 11:46 am 

Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:34 pm
Posts: 2295
Location: Los Angeles
Oh, that's great to know.

A while back, I was trying to use my daughter's laptop as an additional Kinect 2 iPi Recorder slave. AFAIK, there shouldn't have been any reason it couldn't maintain 30 fps. Maybe this was the problem?

I'll look into this as soon as I can. Thanks for posting the tip.

_________________
Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Demo Reel (2017) | Demo Reel (2015) | Demo Reel (2013)

Image
Watch a one minute excerpt on Vimeo now!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 10:23 am 

Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 10:03 am
Posts: 2
Hello,

I'm new to this forum. I just experienced today this issue, significant frame drops with my kinect v2 on my laptop. I've done everything I've found to improve it, but nothing happened, ipi recorder still gets 23 fps, which is considered very low by the software... Do I have to wait until a better lighting ? I don't know what else I can do, but since I'm trying to record with 2 kinects, the slave computer doesn't allow me to record a complete video due to this frame drop... It's very frustrating. Anyone has found something ?

My laptop specs:

CPU: i5 6300 2.3 Ghz to 3.2 Ghz
RAM: 6 Gb
GPU: Nvidia Geforce GTX 950M.

Thanks in advance !


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 11:56 pm 
iPi Soft

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 6:12 am
Posts: 2041
Location: Moscow, Russia
Hi
Maybe you've already tried all that I suggest below, but check:
  • Set power plan to High Performance
  • Try all USB ports available to connect Kinect
  • Check this particular Kinect with another PC (master?) to ensure it's not the sensor fault
  • Update graphics drivers, both for discrete and integrated graphics
  • Disable one of the graphic cards completely in Device Manager
  • Disable swap file as mentioned previously in this topic


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 1:44 am 

Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 10:03 am
Posts: 2
Hi, thanks for the quick reply. I've done everything told, but unfortunately my computer doesn't seem this powerful to lauch the kinect with stable 30 fps. I've spent 3 days trying to know why. It doesn't come frome the kinect, with my other PC it works fine.
I was wondering, does the Sony PS eye works better ? It's very cheap and maybe my laptop can run at least one of these cameras...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:30 am 
iPi Soft

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 6:12 am
Posts: 2041
Location: Moscow, Russia
Maybe some incompatibility with USB controller...
Did you run Kinect Configuration Verifier tool? What does it say?

PS Eyes are somewhat harder to use compared to Kinect - particularly, there are more strict requirements for lighting and clothes, and you need more cameras (at least 4). However, they usually provide better results when used properly.
Here is a comparison for you to weigh pros and cons
http://docs.ipisoft.com/Multiple_Depth_Sensors_vs_Sony_PS_Eye_Comparison


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:15 am 

Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:09 am
Posts: 1
vmaslov wrote:
Hi
Maybe you've already tried all that I suggest below, but check:
  • Set power plan to High Performance
  • Try all USB ports available to connect Kinect
  • Check this particular Kinect with another PC (master?) to ensure it's not the sensor fault
  • Update graphics drivers, both for discrete and integrated graphics
  • Disable one of the graphic cards completely in Device Manager
  • Disable swap file as mentioned previously in this topic


I have done these settings but there is also one thing i like to add up that you have to check the compatibility settings (right click on desktop icon and troubleshoot compatibility).

_________________
So i just published my first review


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 2 of 2   [ 17 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
610nm Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net