Change font size
It is currently Mon Dec 05, 2022 12:28 am


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 7 posts ]
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2022 7:41 pm 

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2022 7:32 pm
Posts: 4
Is there a way to stop the tracking or refining process and re align joycon motion controllers to the correct axis? I understand the joycons aren't as accurate as the the move controllers but they're what I currently have access to.

If I keep sudden movements to a minimum they seem to do reasonably well on my hands, however the one on my head starts drifting almost immediately, but often it will maintain its new orientation for quite a while. it would be nice to be able to manually rotate the controller during the tracking process.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2022 10:58 am 
iPi Soft

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 6:12 am
Posts: 2355
Location: Moscow, Russia
You normally perform tracking before applying motion data from controllers. So there is no need to do corrections during tracking.
When applying motion data, you can try to compensate for drifting by processing in smaller regions of frames. E.g. set a small ROI where you think motion data is stable enough, adjust a bone's position in one of the frames and apply motion data - it only affects the selected ROI. Then set another ROI and repeat.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2022 11:04 pm 

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2022 7:32 pm
Posts: 4
I think I did it correctly - the mocap from dual Azure Kinects was tracked and seemed fine. Then, in an attempt to add wrist rotation, I aligned the 1200Mhz PS moves to the 2nd Kinect camera which you can see here:
https://1drv.ms/u/s!Arg1GuG9JW4eh9Mzy-JTIRgTHg5j5A?e=ZhexBA

But not more than 60 frames later it was out of alignment already. I bought these PS moves because I thought their higher refresh rate was supposed to mitigate the amount of drift, but they almost seem worse than the Nintendo joycons.
https://1drv.ms/u/s!Arg1GuG9JW4eh9M0s2BY8uleWZpo_A?e=Dw9n1F

Since the wrist WAS fine before I applied the motion controller data - what am I supposed to do to fix the drift?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2022 2:03 pm 
iPi Soft

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 6:12 am
Posts: 2355
Location: Moscow, Russia
Are you sure you properly matched controllers with body parts in Mocap Studio?
Can you share an iPiVideo file?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2022 4:44 pm 

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2022 7:32 pm
Posts: 4
Here is a video and iPiMotion file:
https://1drv.ms/u/s!Arg1GuG9JW4eh9M4rYHP8pJCkfHoOw?e=9lDxCL


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2022 8:36 am 
iPi Soft

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 6:12 am
Posts: 2355
Location: Moscow, Russia
Hi
I've looked at your video.

One thing I've noticed first is when you are "aiming" at a camera, you hold a controller not the way we recommend. So it is hard to use the "Align with camera" function in Mocap Studio. The sphere part should be the closest to a camera. See a sample picture in the docs:
https://docs.ipisoft.com/Motion_Controllers#Tips_on_action_video

Nevertheless, it looks like there's some inconsistency in motion data from the hand controller #2 and I could not get well-captured rotation of the hand throughout the whole video. On the other hand (no pun intended), the head controller #1 looks good enough to me. So there is a probability you get bad data from one of the controllers. Either because the controller itself is faulty. Or because your BT adapter does not cope well with two controllers. Or (less likely) because of poor calibration in iPi Recorder.

  • Try to re-calibrate controllers in Recorder.
  • Try to use just a single controller (each of them) during recording to see if that helps.
  • Try to move the BT adapter closer to the capture area. With the PC itself or using an USB extension cable.
  • In case you're using a built-in BT, try getting an external one with extended operation range (10m+).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2022 9:42 am 

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2022 7:32 pm
Posts: 4
I had tried holding it the suggested way in an earlier test and actually got worse results - so you may be right about bad data from the blue tooth controller or the ps move. I will try using a different BT controller with just that device and see if it helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 7 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
610nm Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net